Sex crimes in Worcester County Massachusetts, refer to sexual conduct that is considered illegal. They encompass a wide range of behaviors, including sexual gestures towards a child, lewd or lascivious acts. The punishments for sex crimes in Worcester County can be very harsh. Convictions carry potential penalities like lengthy incarceration, court-ordered GPS monitoring, registration as a sex offender, and court-ordered psychotherapy.
In 2019, the Massachusetts Executive Office of Public Safety and Security (EOPSS) recorded over 791 sex crimes in Worcester County, including
Sex crimes in Worcester County include,
Indecent assault and battery
This crime involves the intentional and unsolicited touching of another offensively and includes an indecent act, usually touching body parts commonly considered private.
Rape encompasses any natural or unnatural sexual intercourse with a person against their will by the application or threat of physical force or violence. It is punishable by imprisonment in the state prison for not more than 20 years for a first-time offender. A subsequent offense can attract a sentence up to life imprisonment.
Assault with Intent to Commit Rape
This is the offense of raping and abusing a child below 16 years old. It is a strict liability crime, meaning that the consent of the victim and a reasonable mistake regarding the victim’s age is not a defense. It is punishable by up to life imprisonment, except as otherwise provided, for any term in a house of correction.
Kidnapping a person and sexually assaulting them is punishable by a state prison term not less than 25 years.
Drugging a person for sexual intercourse
This crime involves the administration of any substance to a person with the intent to stupefy or overpower the person and have sexual intercourse with them. It is punishable by imprisonment in the state prison for life or any term of years not below ten years.
Inducing a minor into prostitution
This crime is committed when a person provides incentives for a minor to become a prostitute. The offense is punishable by a state prison term between 3 and 5 years together with a fine of $5,000.
Living off or sharing the earnings of a minor prostitute involves knowingly deriving support from the earnings or proceeds of prostitution committed by a minor. It is punishable by not less than five years in state prison and a $5,000 fine.
An individual commits this crime by exposing their genitals in a public location. It is punishable by incarceration in a house of correction or jail for not more than six months, or a fine of up to $200, or by both the fine and imprisonment.
Open and gross lewdness and lascivious behavior
A person commits the crime by exposing their genitals, breast, or buttock in such a manner that causes alarm or shock. It is punishable by not more than three years in the state prison or not more than 2 years in jail or by a fine of not exceeding $300.
Incest occurs when there is sexual intercourse or marriage between persons related by blood or adoption. It is punishable by incarceration in the state prison for not more than 20 years or in the house of correction for not more than 2.5 years.
Disseminating harmful materials to a minor
Massachusetts law criminalizes the dissemination of any matter harmful to minors, including handwritten or printed material and visual representations. This is not applicable to electronically transmitted messages. A first offense for this crime is punishable by imprisonment in the state prison for not more than five years or in a jail or house of correction for not more than 2.5 years, or by a fine between $1000 and $10,000. The fine for a second offense ranges from $5000 to $20,000. The third or subsequent offense attracts fines between $10,000 and $30,000. Each number of offenses can be punishable by both a fine and imprisonment.
This crime entails the intentional possession, purchase, dissemination, or manufacture of material depicting a child’s involvement in sexual activity.
Prostitution, pimping and soliciting
On the one hand, Massachusetts law criminalizes the act of engaging, offering to engage, or agreeing to engage in sexual activity with another for a fee. It is punishable by up to one year in the house of correction or a fine not exceeding $500.
On the other hand, it is also an offense to pay, offer to pay, or agree to pay a person to engage in sexual activity. This is punishable by up to 2.5 years in the house of correction or a fine of between $1,000 and $5,000.
Convicted sex offenders that fall under the category of potential repeat offenders are required to register in the sex offenders registry. The Law categorizes sex offenders in Worcester into three levels based on the degree of danger they pose to society and their potential to re-offend. Level 1 is the lowest classification, while Level 3 offenders are most likely to re-offend. The registry only provides public access to information on Level 2 and 3 sex offenders. The following agencies can, however, obtain information about Level 1 sex offenders
A sex offender registry is a public repository for information about individuals convicted for sex offenses. In compliance with state law, the Massachusetts Sex Offender Registry Board operates a public sex offender registry that provides statewide sex offender information, including those for Worcester County. Sex offenders who live, work, or attend school within the state must register information, including their full legal name, aliases, home addresses, work addresses, weight, height, eye color, hair color, social security number, photograph, and fingerprints. Through the registry, interested persons can search sex offenders in Worcester County by name, zip code, or neighborhood. The purpose of this registry is to provide residents with sufficient information on sex offenders around them.
Residents may also request sex offender information via email, by mail, and in person. To request by email, interested parties may send an email to email@example.com identifying themselves or their organization. Requesters will then receive a reply containing the instructions for the request.
To request via mail, interested parties may fill the Request for Sex Offender Registry Information and mail it to
Attention: SORI Coordinator
Sex Offender Registry Board
P.O. Box 392
North Billerica, MA 01862
Residents can walk-in and request information on a sex offender at any city or town police station in Worcester County. Requesters must present a completed Request for Sex Offender Registry Information and valid government-issued ID. The Police Department may also require them to provide their name, address, and reason for the request.
Sex crime lawyers have a good understanding of the law and the requisite expertise to navigate sex crime proceedings. They can also provide helpful, professional guidance and help that can make a difference in the accused’s case. During the trial, a sex crime attorney can examine the circumstances leading to the sex crime charge and the investigation process to expose any deviation from the law. A sex crime lawyer can also discredit the sex crime charge by challenging the evidence and testimonies presented by the prosecution. Attorneys provide post-trial assistance such as pleading for leniency during sentencing and requesting for termination of the obligation to register as a sex offender.
Depending on the facts of the case and the particular charge, a sex crime defense attorney can deploy any of the following defenses to a sex crime charge in Worcester County.
Illicit motive: the defense may claim the accuser has wrongly implicated the accused for vengeful reasons such as a failed relationship, an attempt to cover up guilt after consensual sex, divorce or custody disputes, manipulation of children, among other possible causes.
Challenge of evidence: Law enforcement must adhere to specific protocols when obtaining and storing evidence. If police officers fail to follow these protocols, an attorney may discredit the sex crime charge by moving a motion to suppress such evidence.
Consent: The defendant may present evidence that the alleged victim gave consent to the culpable act; hence it was a consensual sexual act at the time. Consent is, however, not a defense in certain sex offenses where the law deems the victim unable to provide consent, whether due to age or mental incapacity.